Finding Accountability

I love to write, to get into the minds and hearts of my characters, to play in their imperfect world, which is so different than my own imperfect one. They have to worry about invasions and demonic mages and careful intra-court politics. I have to worry about my car lasting another year and what to wear to work tomorrow.

But…there’s always a seductive reason to put off sitting down in front of the keyboard. Laundry, cooking, playing with kittens, spending time with my favorite Scotsman, slaughtering half of Azeroth in the name of the Horde. Work, sleep, not becoming a total recluse.

So I started a writer’s group on Facebook with some of the better Star Wars RP’ers I know. There are exercises, group critiques, and hopefully a good exchange of information while we all learn how to improve our craft. That’s what I’m telling myself, anyway.

What it actually is is a source of accountability. I can’t post exercises for others and then not complete them myself, because that’s just not sporting. I need that nudge, that requirement, that metaphorical disapproving glare. I don’t have an agent or an editor to fuss at me, so I had to create my own. 

Now, off to do the exercise I assigned everyone else on Wednesday and is due in under 6 hours. Did I ever mention that I am the Queen of Procrastination?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Finding Accountability

  1. ladyimbrium says:

    If not for the last minute nothing would ever get done!

Leave a Reply

