Things I Need To Write.

That is, things I find necessary to the act of writing.

  • A computer/word processor/BlackBerry…something with a keyboard. I think very quickly, and my fingers can keep up with my thoughts on a keyboard far faster than they can with pen and paper. Plus, I get hung up on making my handwriting pretty.

 

  • Music, with headphones. This is key. Music through speakers doesn’t have that immersive quality- at least the speakers that came embedded in my laptop. The music will be instrumental for the most part, unless there are certain songs that I have decided are a leitmotif for a character or scene. For example: “Ava Adore” by Smashing Pumpkins is the song for my current villain.  “Exodus” by Two Steps From Hell is the theme for a scene. Vivaldi’s “Devil’s Trill” is the song for one of my main quartet of characters.

 

  • Tea. With sugar. Specifically, Stash Earl Grey or English Breakfast, occasionally Princess Grey. The sugar must be real sugar and ideally in lump form. A devoted Scotsman who brings me my tea on a regular basis knows that the Essential Fluid of Inspiration is best served in either a Japanese style tea bowl* or my favorite blue and black cup with no handle.

*more surface area, so it cools faster and therefore is consumable at a higher rate. Science is awesome, m’kay?

And now, my oddest requirement- something or someone to ignore. Allow me to elaborate, Gentle Readers (all two of you). I was re-listening to Douglas Adams’ posthumously published The Salmon of Doubt, specifically the bits about Maggie and Trudy, the two dogs that adopted him when he was in Santa Fe. He mentions that the dogs were not content to go for a walk, they had to go for an ignore.  In the end of the vignette, he mentions that the dogs have realized that they cannot go for an ignore without someone to ignore.

I cannot write without something to ignore. Be it my actual work, housework, the roommate, the laundry…something…I have to have something to ignore.

I think this need started back when I was writing about my RP character for the first time and ignoring my now ex-husband so I could concentrate. Ignoring has just become ingrained in me- I do my best work when I am ignoring. Probably a character flaw, but oh well, it is what it is.

By the way, I recently picked up The Art of War for Writers. I highly recommend it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Things I Need To Write.

  1. ladyimbrium says:

    Oddly enough I write my best holocron/blog posts when there is other work I should be doing.

  2. julronimo says:

    Love, love, love this post. You sound like someone I’d love to have a cup of tea with. Bookmarking you.,

Leave a Reply

