Muse Found!

At least for today.

I’ve always been open to inspiration from anywhere I can find it, and I believe some things do just fall into your lap when you least expect it.

In preparation for NaNoWriMo next month, I’ve been laying out the pantheons for my main characters. I have been struggling trying to find the right “desert” deity for one of my characters. She needed to be female, fond of warriors, enforcer of oaths…you get the idea. I also consciously wanted to stay away from Ladies that the average person would know about.

Interestingly, I had a really “don’t do this” idea when I tried to come up with my own Lady for this particular character. As a pagan, I didn’t want to risk annoying any Divine who thought I was trying to create divinity. (Makes heaps of sense, I know, but the thought was there.)

His nickname is The Scorpion, he’s devoted, he’s sensual, he’s vicious, and he’s oathbound.

Then, this morning, I got introduced to the Lady Ishara via Journeying to the Goddess. In all my classical studies, I had never heard of her. Listen to this.

“Ishara’s themes are creativity, sexuality, passion, instinct, fire and energy. Her symbols are the scorpion (or any stinging, hot items). An ancient Mesopotamian Goddess, Ishara is known for her fiery nature. The Syrians specifically worshiped Her in the form of a scorpion when they wished to improve sexual prowess or passion. In other traditions, Ishara judges human affairs fairly but firmly, and all oaths made in Her name are sacred.”

I literally sat there, jaw hanging open in a most becoming fashion (yeah, right) and immediately said Thanks! to whoever was listening.

I really feel like this was truly a gift from the Divine as a reward for not pushing ahead when my intuition told me not to.

Oh Great and Wondrous Mysteries of the Universe, my pen is at the ready. Thank you for the gift of writing. Thank you for the spark of creativity that leads me to tell stories. Thank you for the incredibly strong sense of will that will propel me forward.

In the words of Terry Pratchett, in Pyramids, “It’s not a case of must, you see. I will.

I will, with their help, get this story told.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Muse Found!

  1. ladyimbrium says:

    I love that site too. Fantastic resource.

    And I’m glad you found what you needed to help your story along.

  2. That is too cool!!! I’m so happy you were guided to and found the inspiration you needed to continue your work! Keep us updated – I’d LOVE to read your finished piece! 🙂

    • scoutlady13 says:

      Madame RavynStar,
      I was introduced to your blog by my friend Imbrium (see above comment) and enjoy seeing your daily postings when I get up far too early in the morning to go to work. A lovely moment of spirituality and peace in an otherwise unpleasant time of the day. Thank you for your kind words.

Leave a Reply

