The Time Between Times, And How To Use It

Today is Samhain, or Halloween if you prefer. It’s the end of the Celtic year, the time to prepare for what is yet to come. Unlike the Julian calendar, the Celts did not step from one year to another with the tick of a clock. Our New Year begins on Winter Solstice, December 22nd-ish.

This is the time to take stock, to go through the herds and decide which beasts are destined for breeding and who has a date with the dinner table. As NaNoWriMo draws closer (T-minus 16 hours and counting, give or take) it’s time to cull the herd.

I have my cast of characters. I have their world framed, if not entirely built, and they are all more or less on speaking terms with me. Now comes the culling- to see what ideas get to make it to the next generation and which ones are going to be the entree of the next big celebration.

I’ll be sharpening my scythe tonight, keeping the hearthfire lit and welcoming those from Beyond who care to visit. It is the night before the Time without Time, the Place between Places.

A perfect time to go walking in another world. Join me, won’t you?

See you on the other side of the Veil.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Time Between Times, And How To Use It

  1. ladyimbrium says:

    *insert deep dramatic chuckle here* I love the image of you sitting before the fire sharpening a scythe. Actually used one once. It is absolutely the perfect tool for the Reaper.

    Makes sense about the year too. Everything draws to an energetic close this time of year- a dormancy, if you will. When the sun rises at Winter Solstice, things feel like they begin to stir in their sleep. Not dead, not yet awake, but with the feeling that yes things will continue.

  2. ladyimbrium says:

    I know you’re busy, but I got you a little something. http://ladyimbriumsholocron.wordpress.com/2012/11/06/witchy-blog-award/
    I know how crazy things are, so if you don’t get to it I understand. I just want you to know that I gave it to you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

