One week in, four to go.

I’ve officially reached my first week in NaNoWriMo, and my word count is at about 10,500. (Disclaimer: have not yet done today’s writing {11/7} but it’s still three hours til bedtime, I’m golden.)

My characters are beginning to show their true colors in ways I did not imagine. My female lead, who I have often seen as somewhat quiet, the plotting type, has got a mouth on her that’s going to end up getting her into trouble. My male lead is proving surprisingly docile, until he gets into a situation that he knows how to handle.

And then there’s my villain, and his dog.

The dog is simple- she’s based off someone I dislike intensely, but actually feel rather sorry for.

The villain himself, that’s another kettle of piscatorial life forms entirely. He combines the bad and worst aspects of both my ex-husbands. As a matter of fact, when he speaks, he does it in my most recent ex’s voice. His short temper and cocky attitude come from my first ex. I wrote out a description of him to read to the Kilted One, who looked at me and said, “Wow, honey…you really don’t like this guy, do you?”

As a matter of fact, no, I don’t. I can’t think of a single redeeming quality that he has. This may need to change, as the best villains can usually evoke a little sympathy. Think of Darth Vader, or Lord Voldemort. They are somewhat sympathetic characters. People can pity them, if not what they turned into. Darth Vader was always the doe-eyed little Annie Skywalker, Tom Riddle was an orphaned child who was a social outcast.

I really need to find something pitiable about my villain. This will be my next challenge to myself. A purely “bad” character is almost intrinsically doomed to be one-dimensional, and we can’t be having that.

Writing a villain is hard, but writing the hero himself seems to be even more challenging. I had always seen my ML as a brash, aggressive, axe-wielding antihero. He’s turning out to be far more sly than I thought.

I have three secondary characters at the moment. One has been introduced, the other two will be shortly. I’m trying to work in some humor, because right now it’s very grim, and it shouldn’t be.

All in all though, I’m enjoying stretching the literary muscles. It’s been too long.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to One week in, four to go.

  1. ladyimbrium says:

    Kettle of piscatorial life forms….. STILL laughing about that one.

    At least this way the exes are good for something, right? Er, write?

Leave a Reply

