2013

I have never been one for New Years resolutions- I know my failings, and I have to have a more powerful motivator than the flipping of a calendar page to get me out of my habits; or as The Kilted One would say, get me to change my mind once I have my hooves dug in.

I have said that I will write something every day on Stormtouched. Some days that may be a thousand words, some days it may be a sentence, some days it may be writing a scene for a picture. Originally, back in November, I was hoping to be at the editing stage right now, but guess what?

Not. Even. Close.

I don’t even have the excuse of having excuses. Some days just went by and I didn’t think about it at all. No crises, no holiday drama, nothing, really- just didn’t think about it. So I am going to write something EVERY DAY. Even if it’s just a sentence- because sentences are like potato chips.

I have said that I am going to be more mindful of what and how much I eat. Do I need to lose weight? No question, and I have never denied it. Would it make one of my more private goals more feasible? Likely.  These are excellent reasons to both watch what I eat and exercise more.

However, I have a hormonal condition that makes it slightly easier for me to do calculus while standing on my head and conjugating Latin verbs (only one of which I can actually do) than to lose weight without severe, draconian changes to my lifestyle. One of the side effects of said changes is that they turn me into a fire-breathing, acid-spitting raving bitch. I don’t mean my normal gloriously sarcastic/cynical/snarky self, I mean I get truly cruel and nasty to anyone and everyone. Hence mindfulness versus severe deprivation.

As far as the exercise- I have no excuse. I don’t exercise in the summer because it’s too gorram hot- but the cold and wet doesn’t bother me. So I will be attempting to walk the track during my lunch hour at work- which means I lose my most productive writing time of the day. Decisions.

I have said that I will plant a garden this year, even if it’s only herbs. This, I think I can manage. Tacoma Boys has a buy-one-get-two-free special on their gorgeous clay pots most of the time, so I can at least do that much.

I need to spend less time on Facebook and WoW. I am going to do this by the method of logging off Facebook when I go to bed and not logging back on until my morning break at work. Not like anything is really going on RP-wise there anymore anyway. WoW is simple- old content and Poke-WoW during the week, and log off a little earlier every week.

I need to…do a lot of things. Be better about updating this blog, be better about actually cooking, be a better person in general.

Now’s as good a time as any, I guess. Small changes.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 2013

  1. ladyimbrium says:

    I can not do calculus, stand on my head or conjugate Latin verbs, so you’ve got one on me regardless.
    I’ve tried spending less time on the book of faces. I have the advantage in that unless I’m at work the internet requires multiple steps to access. Things must be turned on, logged into, properly charged, and whatever else. That’s all assuming that I can get a signal in the first place.
    It’s always the “actually get up and *do* it” part that’s the hardest 😉 You’ll manage. You always seem to manage.

  2. scoutlady13 says:

    I can’t stand on my head or do math beyond basic geometry, and my conjugation ability is waning with time away from the classroom.

    I have a lovely pot picked out for those calendula seeds you sent me. I should see about starting those here soon.

    • ladyimbrium says:

      I’m very curious to see how they will grow. The stand at mom’s took some serious damage over the summer heat and drought. If none of the fallen seeds sprout new plants then yours will be the surviving plants from a truly amazing stand of calendula.

  3. ladyimbrium says:

    Also, I have given you an award because this blog is lovely. And because signal boost. http://ladyimbriumsholocron.wordpress.com/2013/01/09/liebster-award/

Leave a Reply

